miniheader curriculum2

Home | Curriculum and Pedagogy | Assessment and Reporting | NAPLAN


The National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN) is an annual assessment for all students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9. It tests the types of skills that are essential for every child to progress through school and life, in reading, writing, spelling, grammar and punctuation, and numeracy. The assessments are undertaken nationwide, every year in the second full week in May.

NAPLAN is made up of tests in the four areas (or ‘domains’) of:

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Language Conventions (spelling, grammar and punctuation)
  • Numeracy 

NAPLAN tests skills in literacy and numeracy that are developed over time, through the school curriculum.

Click here to visit the NAPLAN website